

Contents lists available at ScienceDirect

International Journal of Applied Earth Observation and Geoinformation

journal homepage: www.elsevier.com/locate/jag



Editorial

Acknowledgement of reviewer services to the International Journal Applied Earth Observation and Geoinformation



Peer review is the backbone of the scientific process. In 2016 a total of 866 scientist provided reviewer services for the International Journal Applied Earth Observation and Geoinformation. Frequent reviewers receive a recognition from the publisher in form of a Certificate of Outstanding Contribution in Reviewing and receive a 30 days free access to Scopus and ScienceDirect. More importantly they gain first hand insight into the latest developments in science as they are the first to read exciting new scientific papers. Nevertheless it is hard to find reviewers as the number of papers submitted to our journal has increased substantially over the last years and more remote sensing journals are put in the market each year. We are grateful to all those individuals that have devoted their precious time to reviewing papers for JAG. This has improved the quality of our communications which is well reflected in the number of citations our papers receive and the impact factor of the journal. JAG ranks third of all 28 remote sensing journals not the least because of the quality of the reviews we provide. As a token of our appreciation it is my pleasure to thank all reviewers that were active in 2016 on behalf of the editorial board, the associate editors, the Publisher and myself as Editor-in-Chief of JAG. To honor them we list all reviewers that provide four or more reviews in 2016:

Yuanzhi Zhang, Gong Shaoqi, Yu Li, Marius Hauglin, Charlotte Bishop, Zhaojun Huang, Eduardo González-Ferreiro, Abel Ramoelo, Jing Tan, Ming Zhang, Kirsten de Beurs, Ronghua Ma, Mattias Nyström, Fabian Enßle, Hongsheng Zhang, Hongtao Duan, Kun Shi, Ruiliang Pu, Lucy Bastin, Shengli Huang, Bingfang Wu, Zhen Li, Freek van der Meer, Andrew K Skidmore, Murtala Muhammad Badamasi, Chandrashekhar M Biradar, Suha Berberoglu, Andrea Buono, Lenio Soares Galvao, Maged Mahmoud Marghany, Matheus Pinheiro Ferreira, Anupma Prakash, Guangyao Duan, Martin Rutzinger, Richard Michael Teeuw, Roshanak Darvishzadeh, Victor Jetten, Jennifer Roelens, Lin Cao, Mingguo Ma, Weicheng Wu, Harm M. Bartholomeus, Masoome Amighpey, Okke Batelaan, Onisimo Mutanga, Baburao Kamble, Brian Barkdoll, Deepankar Choudhury, Elizabeth Botha, Nando Foppa, Qiuming Cheng, Ramesh P. P Singh, Stefan Hasenauer, Yijun He.

Freek van der Meer University of Twente, Faculty ITC, Enschede, The Netherlands