Message from steering committee

We are pleased to introduce the Sixth edition of the International Conference on COMmunication Systems and NETworkS (COMSNETS). The conference has evolved over the years and continues to offer a high-quality program with well-known keynote speakers, a selective technical track and poster session, vibrant panel discussions on current topics, workshops that address critical areas of communications and their impact on society, Mobile India 2014 the Business Track of the conference, a strong slate of demos and exhibits, and a PhD forum where students from several highly-regarded institutions can discuss their ongoing research and interact with experts and other students working on similar topics. We are glad to continue to host the conference in Bangalore, the technology hub of India. This year, COMSNETS 2014 has crossed 200 registrations, a record participation that speaks very high of the conference quality and the interest that it has generated.

COMSNETS 2014 boasts of an outstanding organizing committee, drawn from top researchers from around the world both in industry and academia. We are grateful to the entire organizing committee for their tremendous hard work and meticulous planning. We would like to take this opportunity to convey our gratitude to the General Co-Chairs Prof. P. Vijay Kumar (Indian Institute of Science, India), Prof. Kevin Almeroth (The University of California-Santa Barbara, USA) and Dr. Venkat Padmanabhan (Microsoft Research, India), the TPC Co-Chairs Dr. Ram Ramjee (Microsoft Research, India), Prof. Neelesh Mehta (Indian Institute of Science, India) and Prof. Sanjay Shakkottai (The University of Texas at Austin, USA). The General Chairs, TPC Chairs, the Technical Program Committee, Workshop Chairs, Panel Chairs, Poster Chairs, Ph.D Forum Chairs, Demos and Exhibits Chairs, Publicity and Publications Chairs, Local Arrangements, Sponsorship and Registration Chairs have put together a high quality program that should prove to be innovative, thought-provoking, and educational. Our special thanks go to Chandrika Sridhar (Registration and Finance Chair) and Sudipta Maitra (Sponsorship and Local Arrangement Chair) for their continued support of the conference through the years.

This years version of the conference has a large number of industrial sponsors and university partners. We are extremely grateful to our Industry partners: Microsoft Research, CISCO, Google, IBM Research, Qualcomm, Airtight Networks, Radio Studio and NetSim for their financial support. A big thanks to our conference partners Department of Information Technology (DEITY), Government of India, SASKEN and BigONet Technologies for actively participating and contributing towards the success of the International conference. We are delighted to have IISc Bangalore, IIT Delhi, IIT Bombay, IIT Hyderabad, NIIT University and BITS Pilani as university partners. Our university partners continue to provide invaluable assistance to the conference. Many of the student volunteers that assist conference participants come from these institutions. These universities also serve as the source for many of the papers included in the technical program and workshops. We are also delighted to continue our relationship with IEEE who are the technical co-sponsors of COMSNETS again through the IEEE Communications Society. We are grateful to ACM for their continued support, through the SIGCOMM and SIGMOBILE interest groups.

We welcome you to COMSNETS, and hope that you will be able to experience all this conference has to offer. And while you enjoy the conference, do take some time out to see Bangalore and visit some of the finest R&D labs in Communication Systems and Networks in the country.

We would also like to note the passing away of Mr. Zorawar Singh, affectionately known as JoJo.

JoJo was a great friend of the conference and provided invaluable assistance over the years. He will be greatly missed by the COMSNETS family. May his soul rest in peace in Heaven.

Uday Desai, IIT Hyderabad, India Giridhar Mandyam, Qualcomm, San Diego, USA Rajeev Shorey, ITRA, Dept. of IT, GoI, New Delhi, India G. Venkatesh, SASKEN and IIT Madras, Chennai, India