## **Message from the Program Chairs**

It is our pleasure to welcome all of you to the technical program of the 2021 IEEE International Symposium on Workload Characterization (IISWC 2021), consisting of two keynotes and 19 technical papers.

We called for papers in areas related to the characterization and analysis of computing system workloads, including translational research related to production-oriented commercial systems. We received 48 complete submissions and accepted 19 of them. The paper selection was performed by a program committee (PC) composed of 41 members. Each paper received 5 reviews, all from the PC members, via a single-round double-blind review process. The authors were allowed to answer the reviewers' comments through a rebuttal period. After the rebuttal, an online discussion period resulted in recommendations to accept, reject or discuss papers.

The PC met virtually on August 27, 2021 to discuss the papers and finalize the selection of papers for the technical program. During the meeting, PC members with a conflict of interest with any paper author were excused from the discussion using Zoom's breakout rooms. For any conflict with one of the PC Chairs, the review and discussion of the paper was handled by the other PC Chair. The discussion summaries were provided to the authors to explain the decisions reached by the PC.

IISWC 2021 included an optional artifact evaluation (AE) process to promote the reproducibility of experimental results. We invited the authors of accepted IISWC papers to submit their supporting materials to the AE process.

We would like to express our deep gratitude to all our PC members, who completed reviews on time and provided high-quality feedback to the authors. We would like to thank Mengchi Zhang (Purdue University) for handling the HotCrp paper submission system. Both Mengchi Zhang and Ji Liu (NC State university & Argonne National Lab), have done a great job in managing HotCrp and Zoom breakout rooms for the PC meeting. We would also like to thank the Steering Committee that provided important and timely feedback. We would like to acknowledge the members of the organizing committee for their support of program committee activities. In particular, we must thank the general chairs Omer Khan (Univ. of Connecticut) and Ravi Soundararajan (VMware) for their collaborative help, and the AE chairs, Timothy Merrifield (VMware), Jason Lowe-Power (UC Davis) and Reetuparna Das (University of Michigan) for organizing the AE process. Also, thank you to all the authors who submitted their works to IISWC amidst a global pandemic. Although the pandemic has prevented us from meeting in-person, we hope you enjoy the IISWC 2021 virtual program.

Tim Rogers **Program Co-Chair**Purdue University, USA

Huiyang Zhou

Program Co-Chair

North Carolina State University, USA