## **Reconfigurable Architectures Workshop (RAW)**

This book presents the proceedings of the 25th Reconfigurable Architectures Workshop (RAW 2018) held in Vancouver, Canada in May 2018. RAW 2018 is associated with the 32nd Annual IEEE International Parallel & Distributed Processing Symposium (IEEE IPDPS 2018) and is sponsored by the IEEE Computer Society and the Technical Committee on Parallel Processing. The workshop is one of the major meetings for researchers to present ideas, results, and on-going research on both theoretical and practical advances in reconfigurable computing.

In the last few years, we have seen a steady growth in exciting developments and applications in the field of reconfigurable computing. Many of these new developments are reported in these proceedings, in topics that include algorithms, architectures, tools, systems and applications. The technical program committee, which includes experts from academia and industry around the world, has put together an excellent and stimulating program. The papers presented in these proceedings were selected from among 40 submissions. The technical program includes four regular sessions, two short paper introduction session, five invited talks and an interactive session following each set of technical presentations. The aim of the interactive session is to provide the opportunity to all the authors to present a demo and a poster of their work to facilitate discussion and brainstorming with the RAW participants.

We would like to express our sincere thanks to all those who have contributed to the success of the workshop. In particular, we would like to thank all the members of the program committee and reviewers for their valuable time and effort in the review process, and to provide constructive feedback to the authors. We also acknowledge the support of the IPDPS organizing committee and IEEE Computer Society in producing these proceedings. A special mention has to be done for the members of the EXTRA EU project ("Exploiting eXascale Technology with Reconfigurable Architectures" - http://extrahpc.eu/ - funded from the EU Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant No 671653) and the TXTnext group for their support in organizing an event to celebrate the 25th RAW anniversary. Finally, we thank all authors who contributed to this workshop, for submitting their manuscript and sharing their latest research results with the RAW community. We hope that you will find in these proceedings and workshop a valuable platform as well as source of information for your work.

Marco D. Santambrogio, Diana Goehringer, Dirk Stroobandt, Ken Eguro

## **Organizing Committee**

Workshop Chairs:

Marco D. Santambrogio, Politecnico di Milano, Italy Diana Goehringer, TU Dresden, Germany

Program Chair:

Dirk Stroobandt, Ghent University, Belgium Ken Eguro, Microsoft Research, USA

Steering Chair: Viktor K. Prasanna, University of Southern California, USA

Steering Committee:

Jürgen Becker, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany Viktor K. Prasanna, University of Southern California, USA Ramachandran Vaidyanathan, Louisiana State University, USA

**Publicity Co-Chairs:** 

Brian Veale, IBM, USA Ivan Beretta, University of Westminster, UK Laura Nacci, Politecnico di Milano, Italy



## **Program Committee**

Juergen Becker, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Ivan Beretta, Imperial College London

Catalin Ciobanu, University of Amsterdam

Bruce Cockburn, University of Alberta

Rene Cumplido, INAOE

Lorenzo Di Tucci, Politecnico di Milano

Ken Eguro, Microsoft Research

Diana Goehringer, TU Dresden

Guy Gogniat, Université de Bretagne Sud

Christian Hochberger, Technische Universitaet Darmstadt

Michael Huebner, Ruhr-University Bochum

Eddie Hung, Imperial College London

Andreas Koch, Technische Universitaet Darmstadt

Dirk Koch, University of Manchester

Martin Langhammer, Intel

Miriam Leeser, Northeastern University

Philip Leong, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Gayatri Mehta, University of North Texas

Nele Mentens, KU Leuven

Antonio Miele, Politecnico di Milano

Seda Ogrenci-Memik, Northwestern University

Francesca Palumbo, UNISS

Dionisios Pnevmatikatos, FORTH-ICS & Technical University of Crete

Mario Porrmann, Bielefeld University

Viktor Prasanna, University of Southern California

Marco Rabozzi, Politecnico di Milano (webmaster)

Marco Domenico Santambrogio, Politecnico di Milano

Fynn Schwiegelshohn, Ruhr-University Bochum

Dimitrios Soudris, National Technical University of Athens

Dirk Stroobandt, Ghent University

Ramachandran Vaidyanathan, Louisiana State University

Ana Varbanescu, University of Amsterdam

Brian F. Veale, IBM

Sara Vinco, Politecnico di Torino