# Ninth Annual Workshop on Accelerators and Hybrid Exascale Systems (AsHES)

## **Description**

The development of ever larger and more energy-efficient computer systems in recent years has led to more and more systems with heterogeneous computing units (CPUs, GPUs or FPGAS) and systems with heterogeneous storage systems (High Memory Bandwidth). With the rise of persistent memory, attached to the PCIe bus or to the memory DIMMs, the border between storage and memory becomes more and more fluid. Other systems offer different types of compute nodes, so that a group of nodes build the accelerator (modular supercomputing). Hierarchical storage architectures, for example using burst buffers, try to overcome the IO problems. Programming such a system can be a real challenge along with locality, scheduling, load balancing, concurrency and so on.

This workshop focuses on understanding the implications of accelerators and heterogeneous designs on the hardware systems, porting applications, performing compiler optimizations, and developing programming environments for current and emerging systems. It seeks to ground accelerator research through studies of application kernels or whole applications on such systems, as well as tools and libraries and runtime systems that improve the performance and productivity of applications on these systems.

The goal of this workshop is to bring together researchers and practitioners who are involved in application studies for accelerators and other heterogeneous systems, to learn the opportunities and challenges in future design trends for HPC applications and systems.

#### **General Chair**

Antonio J. Peña, Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Spain

# **Program Co-Chairs**

Min Si, Argonne National Laboratory, USA Lena Oden, FernUni Hagen, Germany

## **Technical Program Committee**

Ashwin Aji, AMD, USA

James Beyer, NVIDIA Corporation, USA

Sridutt Bhalachandra, Argonne National Laboratory, USA

Adrián Castelló, Universitat Jaume I, Spain

Huimin Cui, Institute of Computing Technology, CAS, China

Khaled Hamidouche, AMD, USA

Jeff Hammond, Intel Corporation, USA

Andreas Herten, Juelich Supercomputing Center, Forschungszentrum Juelich, Germany

Kaixi Hou, NVIDIA Corporation, USA

Gabriele Jost, NASA Ames Research Center/Supersmith, USA

Guido Juckeland, Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf (HZDR), Germany

Seyong Lee, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA

John Leidel, Texas Tech University, USA

Piotr Luszczek, University of Tennessee, USA

Naoya Maruyama, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA

Stephen Olivier, Sandia National Laboratories, USA

Guray Ozen, NVIDIA Corporation/PGI, Germany

Barry L. Rountree, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA

Bronis R. de Supinski, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA

Xiaonan Tian, NVIDIA Corporation, USA

Pedro Valero-Lara, Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Spain

