WELCOME

ALOHA!

Welcome to Paradise. It is our utmost pleasure to welcome you to the city of Honolulu, Hawaii and to the 2014 IEEE International Symposium on Information Theory. We hope that you will find the Symposium technically rewarding and the Hawaiian nature/ambiance equally interesting.

We thank the Technical Program Co-Chairs Sae-Young Chung, Gerhard Kramer, Olgica Milenkovic and Urbashi Mitra, who with the help of the technical program committee members formed an excellent technical program. The program covers a broad range of topics in information theory, including traditional ones as well as novel applications, and will be presented in nine parallel sessions.

The Technical Program Co-Chairs also organized exciting plenary sessions. We would like to thank our distinguished plenary speakers Ingrid Daubechies, Andrea Goldsmith, P. Vijay Kumar and Michael S. Waterman for accepting our invitation. As each year, the central stage is given to the Shannon Lecturer. This year, the Shannon Lecturer is Jànos Körner, whose lecture "On the Mathematics of Distinguishable Difference" will be given in the morning of Wednesday, July 2, 2014.

We would like to take this opportunity to thank the rest of the ISIT 2014 organizing committee consisting of Negar Kiyavash (finance), Yingbin Liang (publications), Galen Sasaki (publicity), Şennur Ulukuş (recent results), Narayana (Prasad) Santhanam and Li Ping (tutorials). A special thanks goes to Stefan Moser and Huishuai Zhang for their help with publications.

Finally, we would like to acknowledge the contributions of our partners and sponsors. We thank IBM Research, LG, NSF and Qualcomm for their valuable financial support.

We hope you will enjoy the Symposium and Hawaii!

Anders Høst-Madsen Aleksandar Kavcic Venugopal V. Veeravalli General Co-Chairs, ISIT 2014