AWARDS

Professor Markos Papageorgiou (LFIEEE) Has Been Awarded the 2020 IEEE Technical Field Award (Transportation Technologies)

"For Contributions to Traffic Flow Modelling and Operations."

The IEEE Technical Field Awards are awarded for contributions or leadership in specific fields of interest of the IEEE. They are an expression of recognition for outstanding

Digital Object Identifier 10.1109/MITS.2019.2939033 Date of current version: 18 October 2019 contributions to the advancement of the theory and practice of electrical, electronics, communications, environmental and safety technologies, computer science and engineering, and engineering education, as well as the allied branches of engineering and the related arts and sciences and technologies and their application.

PAST RECIPIENTS OF THE IEEE TECHNICAL FIELD AWARD (TRANSPORTATION TECHNOLOGIES) ARE

- 2020—MARKOS PAPAGEORGIOU
- Technical University of Crete, Professor, Chania, Greece "For contributions to traffic flow modelling and operations."
- 2019-HAO HUANG

Technology Chief, General Electric Aviation, Dayton, Ohio, USA "For contributions to aircraft electrification."

2018—JAMES C.C. CHAN

Honorary Professor, University of Hong Kong, Pokfulam, Hong Kong "For contributions to the advancement of electric vehicle technologies."

2017—CLAIRE TOMLIN

Professor, University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, California, USA "For contributions to air transportation systems, focusing on collision avoidance protocol design and avionics safety verification."

2016—PETROS IOANNOU

Professor, University of Southern California, Center for Advanced Transportation Technologies, Los Angeles, California, USA

"For contributions to the design, analysis, and implementation of adaptive cruise-control systems."

2015—ROBERT DEAN KING

Senior Electrical Engineer, GE Global Research, Schenectady, New York, USA

"For contributions to the design, optimization, and implementation of propulsion and energy management systems for hybrid-electric vehicles."

2014—LINOS J. JACOVIDES

Director, Delphi Research Labs (Retired), Grosse Pointe Farms, MI, USA

"For pioneering contributions to the analysis and design of electromechanical systems and power electronics for transportation applications."



Professor Markos Papageorgiou

The IEEE Technical Field Award (Transportation Technologies) recognizes advances in technologies within the fields of interest to the IEEE as applied in transportation systems. The Award is sponsored by the IEEE Industry Applications Society, IEEE Industrial Electronics Society, IEEE Industrial Electronics Society, IEEE Intelligent Transportation Systems Society, IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society, IEEE Power & Energy Society, and IEEE Vehicular Technology Society

Professor Markos Papageorgiou will be honored in 2020 with an IEEE Technical Field Award at the *IEEE Vision, Innovation, and Challenges Summit and Honors Ceremony* on 15 May 2020 at the JW Marriott Parq Vancouver, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.