BOARD OF GOVERNORS

Terms end 31 December 2023 Alexandre Bayen Meng Lu Jim Misener Lv Jim Misener Matthias Schulze

Terms end 31 December 2024 Azim Eskandarian Pujitha Gunaratne Andreas Malikopoulos Simona Sacone Xiao Wang

Terms end 31 December 2025 Arnaud de La Fortelle Catherine M. Elias Fernando Garcia Jonathan Sprinkle Roberto Horowitz

STANDING COMMITTEE CHAIRS

Awards Ljubo Vlacic Conferences and Meetings Brendan Morris Constitution and Bylaws Ljubo Vlacic Education Outreach Matthew Barth Fellow Evaluation Wei-Bin Zhang Finance Lingxi Li History Umit Özguner Long-Range Planning Liubo Valcie Member Activities Petros Ioannou Nominations and Appointments Ljubo Vlacic **Publications** Shunsuke Kamijo Standards Meng Lu Student Activities Brendan Morris Technical Activities Nobuvuki Ozaki

IEEE PERIODICALS/ MAGAZINES DEPARTMENT

Catherine Van Sciver Journals Production Manager Patrick J. Kempf Senior Manager, Production Gail A. Schnitzer Associate Art Director Theresa L. Smith Production Coordinator Felicia Spagnoli Advertising Production Manager Peter M. Tuohy Production Director Kevin Lisankie Editorial Services Director Dawn M. Mellev Senior Director. Publishing Operations Mark David Director, Business Development— Media & Advertising +1 732 465 6473 Fax: +1 732 981 1855 m.david@ieee.org www.ieee.org/ieeemedia



Cristina Olaverri-Monreal

Highlights and Achievements of IEEE ITSC 2023: Bridging Innovation, Culture, and Excellence in the IEEE ITSS

The IEEE Intelligent Transportation Systems Conference (ITSC 2023), the most recent flagship conference of the IEEE Intelligent Transportation Systems Society (ITSS), has just concluded. It was hosted in the city of Bilbao, nestled in the heart of the Basque Country region. This vibrant metropolis harmonizes modernity with tradition, offering rich cultural diversity and breathtaking landscapes.

The iconic Euskalduna Palace, originally a shipyard, stood at the heart of the conference and provided the perfect venue. Attendees also had the opportunity to explore other attractions, including the Guggenheim Museum Bilbao, a masterpiece of contemporary art. In the historic Casco Viejo (Old Town), participants wandered through streets with charming shops, cafes, and traditional Basque architecture and cuisine.

During the event, we celebrated the outstanding work of several researchers with the IEEE ITSS awards: the Outstanding Research Award went to Yisheng Lv from the Institute of Automation, Chinese Academy of Sciences; the Outstanding Application Award was presented to Hong Chen from the Tongji University, China; the Institutional Lead Award went to Long Chen and his team: Yunfeng Ai, Bin Tian, Jian Wang, and Lingxi Li from Waytous Inc., China; the Young Research/Engineer Award was presented to Maria Laura Delle Monache from the University of California, Berkeley; the Lifetime Achievement Award went to Wei-Bin Zhang from the University of California, Berkeley; and finally, the First, Second, and Third Prize of the Best Dissertation Award went to Shi'an Wang Wang from the University of Minnesota, USA, Christopher Kuhn, TU Munich, Germany, and Daniel Medina, Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain, respectively.

Finally, the prestigious IEEE ITSS Presidential Prize for Sustainability in Transportation was awarded to the Centre for Sustainable Road Freight at the University of Cambridge, U.K., represented by Prof. David Cebon "for their multinational, multi-stakeholder, multidisciplinary, high-impact research into decarbonizing road-freight." My sincere felicitations to each awardee.

ITSC 2023 featured cutting-edge research with more than 1,600 submissions from 64 countries, resulting in 943 accepted papers. The conference also hosted 50 special sessions and 21 workshops, engaging more than 15,000 reviewers in the peer-review process. Additionally, four keynote speakers inspired the audience with their talks.

The event spanned several days of stimulating technical discussions, enjoyable social activities, and diverse culinary delights. It included an industry

Digital Object Identifier 10.1109/MITS.2023.3332461 Date of current version: 5 January 2024 The event spanned several days of stimulating technical discussions, enjoyable social activities, and diverse culinary delights.

panel and the highly engaging experience of promoting knowledge sharing, networking, and empowerment for women and young professionals by bringing together experts and emerging talents in the field of intelligent transportation systems. I'd like to take this opportunity to extend my congratulations to the

cochairs of the new ITSS Standing Committee on Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Belonging, building upon the success of the ITSS Ad Hoc Committee on Women and Underrepresented Groups and the ITSS Ad Hoc Committee on Young Professionals, Catherine Malak Noshy, and Stephany Berrio Perez.

Finally, I want to extend my heart-felt congratulations to IEEE ITSC 2023 General Chair Javier del Ser and the team of program chairs and organizers, Fernando Garcia, Ibai Laña, Ahmed Hussein, and Lingxi Li, whose dedication and hard work transformed this conference into a truly unique and unforgettable experience.

Sincerely,

Cristina Olaverri-Monreal President, IEEE ITSS

ITS



