Dr. Ye has been actively involved in developing international video coding and video streaming standards in the ITU-T SG16/Q.6 Video Coding Experts Group and the ISO/International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) JTC 1/ SC 29 MPEG. She holds various leadership positions in international and U.S. national standards development organizations, where she is currently an associate rapporteur of the ITU-T SG16/Q.6 (since 2022), the group chair of the INCITS/MPEG task group (since 2020), and a focus group chair of the ISO/IEC SC 29/AG 5 MPEG Visual Quality Assessment (since 2020). She has made many technical contributions to well-known video coding and streaming standards, such as H.264/AVC, H.265/HEVC, H.266/ VVC, MPEG DASH, and MPEG OMAF. She is an editor of the VVC test model, the 360Lib algorithm description, and the scalable extensions and screen content coding extensions of the HEVC standard.

Dr. Ye is devoted to multimedia standards development, hardware and software video codec implementations, and deep learning-based video research. Her research interests include advanced video coding; processing and streaming algorithms; real-time and immersive video communications; AR/ VR/MR; and deep learning-based video coding, processing, and quality assessment algorithms.

Dr. Ye's lecture topics include video coding: standards and applications, deep learning-based video coding, and 360° video coding.

Ahmed Tewfik | IEEE Signal Processing Society Past President, 2022–2023 Nominations and Appointments Committee Chair



2022 IEEE Signal Processing Society 2022 Election Results for Members-at-Large and Regional Directors-at-Large

uring the 2022 IEEE Annual Election, which ended on 3 October 2022, eligible IEEE Signal Processing Members voted on the Members-at-Large and Regional Directors-at-Large for Regions 1-6 and 8. The ballot included a diverse slate of candidates which were vetted by the IEEE Signal Processing Society (SPS) Nominations and Appointments Committee.

Member-at-large election results

Three new members-at-large will take their seats on the SPS Board of Governors (BoG) beginning 1 January 2023 and will serve until 31 December 2025. Seven candidates competed for the three member-at-large positions. These successful candidates represent a broad

Digital Object Identifier 10.1109/MSP.2022.3217938 Date of current version: 29 December 2022

spectrum of the SPS. The new members-at-large are Mónica Bugallo, Stony Brook University; Yonina Eldar, Weizmann Institute of Science: and Gaurav Sharma, University of Rochester.

Completing their terms as members-at-large on 31 December 2022 are Pascale Fung, The Hong Kong

University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong; Patrick A. Naylor, Imperial College London, U.K.; and Roxana Saint-Nom, Eurocase, Bairex Constructions, Universidad Argentina de la Empresa, Argentina. The BoG is the governing body that oversees the activities of the SPS. The SPS BoG has the responsibility of establishing and implementing policy and receiving reports from its standing boards and committees. Members-at-large represent the member

Member-at-large election results







Gauray Sharma

Regional director-at-large election results







Boufounos

Constantinos B **Papadias**

viewpoint in the board decision making. They typically review, discuss, and act upon a wide range of items affecting the actions, activities, and health of the Society. More information can be found at https://signalprocessingsociety.org/.

Regional director-at-large election results

Two new regional directors-at-large will take their seats on the SPS BoG and Membership Board beginning 1 January 2023 and will serve until 31 December 2024. Regional directors-at-large promote and foster local activities (such as conferences, meetings, and social networking) and encourage new Chapter development; represent their Regions to the core of SPS; offer advice to improve membership relations, recruiting, and service to their regions; guide and work with their corresponding Chapters to serve their members; and assist the vice

president-Membership in conducting Chapter reviews. The new regional directors-at-large are Petros T. Boufounos, Mitsubishi Electric Research Laboratories (Regions 1–6), and Constantinos B. Papadias, The American College of Greece (Region 8).

Completing their terms as regional directors-at-large on 31 December 2022 are Iole Moccagatta, Intel, for Regions 1–6, and Maria Sabrina Greco, the University of Pisa for Region 8.

Announcing the New Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Multimedia: Yonggang Wen

he IEEE Signal Processing Society is happy to announce that Prof. Yonggang Wen will be the new editor-in-chief (EIC) of *IEEE Transactions on Multimedia*. His three-year term will be from January 2023 to December 2025.



Yonggang Wen

Prof. Wen received his Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering and computer science (as well as a minor in Western literature) from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA, USA, in 2008.

He is a professor and president's chair of computer science and engineering at Nanyang Technological University (NTU), Singapore. He has also served as the associate dean (research) at the College of Engineering at NTU Singapore since 2018. His research interests include cloud computing, green data centers, distributed machine learning, blockchain, big data analytics, multimedia networks, and mobile computing.

Prof. Wen served as the acting director of the Nanyang Technopreneurship Center at NTU from 2017 to 2019 and

as the assistant chair (innovation) of the School of Computer Science and Engineering at NTU from 2016 to 2018. He has worked extensively in learning-based system prototyping and performance optimization for large-scale networked computer systems. Previously, he led

product development in content delivery networks at Cisco, which had a revenue impact of US\$3 billion globally. His work in multiscreen cloud social TV has been featured by global media (more than 1,600 news articles from more than 29 countries) and received 2013 Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Information and Communications Technology (ICT) Award (gold medal). His recent work on DCWiz, as the only academia entry, won the 2016 ASEAN ICT Award (gold medal) and 2015 Datacentre Dynamics Award-Asia Pacific (the "Oscar" award of the data center industry).

He was a winner of the 2019 Nanyang Research Award and the sole winner of the 2016 Nanyang Award in Innovation and Entrepreneurship at NTU. He is a corecipient of multiple best paper awards, including the 2019 IEEE TCSVT Best Paper Award, 2015 IEEE Multimedia Best Paper Award, 2016 IEEE Globecom, 2016 IEEE Infocom MuSIC Workshop, 2015 EAI/ICST Chinacom, 2014 IEEE WCSP, 2013 IEEE Globecom, and 2012 IEEE EUC. He received the 2016 IEEE Communications Society (ComSoc) MMTC Distinguished Leadership Award. He serves on editorial boards for multiple transactions and journals, including IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology, IEEE Wireless Communications Magazine, IEEE Communications Survey & Tutorials, IEEE Transactions on Multimedia, IEEE Transactions on Signal and Information Processing Over Networks, IEEE Access, and Elsevier's Ad Hoc Networks, and he was elected as the chair for IEEE ComSoc Multimedia Communication Technical Committee (2014–2016). He is a Fellow of IEEE and the Singapore Academy of Engineering.

Please join us in welcoming Prof. Wen as the new EIC of *IEEE Transactions on Multimedia*. You are encouraged to visit his personal webpage (https://personal.ntu.edu.sg/ygwen/ygwen-CV.pdf) and Google Scholar (https://scholar.google.com/citations?user=byeygOkAA AAJ&hl=en).

Digital Object Identifier 10.1109/MSP.2022.3213215 Date of current version: 29 December 2022