IEEE Visualization and Graphics Technical Committee (VGTC)

http://vgtc.org/

- VSIC

Mission

The IEEE Visualization and Graphics Technical Committee (VGTC) is a formal subcommittee of the Technical Activities Board (TAB) of the IEEE Computer Society. The VGTC provides technical leadership and organizes technical activities in the areas of visualization and visual analytics, computer graphics, virtual and augmented reality, and interaction. VGTC-sponsored conferences and symposia include VIS, VR, ISMAR, PacificVis, EuroVis, BioVis, LDAV, and 3DUI.

AWARDS

To recognize its members for their outstanding technical accomplishments, the VGTC established a series of technical awards in 2004. These awards honor outstanding technical achievements in visualization and virtual reality. In 2013, the VGTC along with the IEEE VGTC Visualization Pioneers Group established the IEEE VGTC VIS Pioneers Group Doctoral Dissertation Award to recognize outstanding academic contributions by junior researchers in visualization and visual analytics.

NATIONAL INITIATIVES

The VGTC is actively involved in national initiatives that study and promote the immediate and long-range challenges in its core and related research areas. For more information visit http://vgtc.org.

GETTING INVOLVED

Membership in the VGTC is open to all individuals interested in visualization, virtual reality and computer graphics at a professional level. There are no dues and no IEEE membership requirements.

WEB SITE

Visit the VGTC web site at http://vgtc.org. It offers information about how to join, VGTC activities, awards, national initiatives, calendar, archives and videos for conferences and symposia, and activities of the Visualization Pioneers Group.

James Ahrens, VGTC Chair

VGTC Executive Committee

Chair

James Ahrens Los Alamos National Laboratory chair@vgtc.org

VICE CHAIR

Miriah Meyer University of Utah vice-chair@vgtc.org

VICE CHAIR FOR CONFERENCES

Aditi Majumder University of California at Irvine conferences@vgtc.org

DIRECTORS

Robert Moorhead Mississippi State University rjm@erc.msstate.edu

Hanspeter Pfister Harvard University pfister@seas.harvard.edu

Amitabh Varshney University of Maryland, College Park varshney@cs.umd.edu

Klaus Mueller Stony Brook University mueller@cs.stonybrook.edu

Claudio T. Silva New York University mueller@cs.stonybrook.edu APPOINTED OFFICERS

FINANCE CHAIR
Loretta Auvil
University of Illinois
at Urbana Champaign
lauvil@ncsa.uiuc.edu

international liaison Hans Hagen

University of Kaiserslautern hagen@informatik.uni-kl.de

ETHICS OFFICER
Penny Rheingans
University of Maryland
Baltimore County
rheingan@cs.umbc.edu

Publications Chair Tobias Isenberg Inria tobias.isenberg@inria.fr

Industrial Relations Chair Jörn Kohlhammer Fraunhofer Institute Joern.Kohlhammer@igd.fraunhofer.

WEB MASTER
Carlos Scheidegger
University of Arizona
cscheid@email.arizona.edu

secretary Joao Comba

Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul (UFRGS)

joao.comba@gmail.com

Chair of the Technical Awards Committee for Visualization; IEEE Service Awards Chair for ISMAR, Visualization, & Virtual Reality Holly Rushmeier Yale University

vgtc-vis-awards@vgtc.org

CHAIR OF THE TECHNICAL AWARDS COM-MITTEE FOR VIRTUAL REALITY Henry Fuchs

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill vgtc-vr-awards@vgtc.org

Members at Large Mark Livingston Naval Research Laboratory

Daniel Weiskopf University of Stuttgart

Victoria Interrante University of Minnesota Liaisons To Vgtc Conferences

EuroVis Anders Ynnerman University of Linköping

ISMAR
Dieter Schmalstieg
Technical University of Graz

Benjamin Lok University of Florida

VIS Lisa Avila Kitware

Ex-Officio Members

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF OF IEEE CG&A Torsten Möller University of Vienna

EDITOR-IN-CHIEF OF IEEE TVCG Klaus Mueller Stony Brook University