IEEE VR 2022





VGTC Virtual Reality Awards Program Chair Message

The IEEE VGTC Virtual Reality Awards program was expanded this year with additional areas and with the establishment of the Virtual Reality Academy, the biggest expansion since the VR Awards started in 2005:

Six areas of outstanding achievement are recognized1:

- IEEE VGTC Virtual Reality Outstanding Dissertation Award recognizes an outstanding dissertation
- IEEE VGTC Virtual Reality Significant New Researcher Award recognizes significant contributions by an individual whose last degree was within the past seven years.
- IEEE VGTC Virtual Reality Technical Achievement Award recognizes an individual's seminal technical achievement
- IEEE VGTC Virtual Reality Lifetime Achievement Award honors an individual's lifetime contribution to the field
- IEEE VGTC Virtual Reality Service Award recognizes an individual with outstanding service to the community
- IEEE VGTC Virtual Reality Academy recognizes multiple individuals with outstanding contributions to the field.

The VR Awards Program Chair, appointed by the IEEE VGTC Executive Committee, supervises the VR Awards process and facilitates the awards announcements and ceremonies at the VR Conference. The Awards Program Chair selects the chairs of each Award Committee, for confirmation by the Executive Committee. Members of each Award Committee are selected by the chair of that committee and confirmed by the Awards Program Chair.

The 2022 Award Committees:

- Outstanding Dissertation Award Committee:
 - o Doug Bowman, Virginia Tech, USA (chair)
 - o Gerd Bruder, University of Central Florida, USA
 - o Jian Chen, Ohio State University, USA
 - o Mar Gonzalez-Franco, Microsoft Research, USA
 - o Jens Grubert, Coburg University, Germany
 - o David Krum, Cal State University, Los Angeles, USA
 - o Ann McNamara, Texas A&M University, USA
 - o Francisco Ortega, Colorado State University, USA
 - o Xueni Pan, Goldsmiths, University of London, UK
 - o Ye Pan, Disney Research, Los Angeles, USA
 - o Thammathip Piumsomboon, University of Canterbury, NZ
 - Andrew Robb, Clemson University, USA
 - o Richard Skarbez, La Trobe University, Australia
 - o Jeanine Stefanucci, University of Utah, USA
 - o Maki Sugimoto, Keio University, Japan
 - o Indira Thouvenin, Univ of Technology of Compiègne, France
- Significant New Researcher Award Committee:
 - o Eakta Jain, University of Florida, USA
 - o Doug Lanman, Meta Reality Labs, USA
- ¹https://ieeevr.org/2022/awards/vgtc/ (accessed February 25, 2022)

- o David Luebke, NVIDIA Research, USA (Chair)
- o Ryan P. McMahan, University of Central Florida, USA
- o Anjul Patney, NVIDIA Research, USA
- o Yaser Sheikh, Meta Reality Labs, USA
- o Frank Steinicke, University of Hamburg, Germany
- Technical and Lifetime Achievement Awards Committee:
 - o Kaan Aksit, University College London, UK
 - o Mark Billinghurst, Univ Auckland, NZ & Univ of S Australia
 - o Bernd Fröhlich, Bauhaus University, Weimar, Germany
 - O Victoria Interrante, University of Minnesota, USA (Chair)
 - o Anatole Lécuyer, INRIA Rennes, France
 - o Luciana Nedel, Federal University Rio Grande do Sul, Brazil
 - o Hideo Saito, Keio University, Japan
- Service Award Committee:
 - o Daisuke Iwai, Osaka University, Japan
 - o Gerry Kim, Korea University, South Korea
 - o Gudrun Klinker, Technical University of Munich, Germany
 - o Regis Kopper, University of N Carolina Greensboro, USA
 - o Amela Sadagic, Naval Postgraduate School, USA (Chair)
 - o Rick Skarbez, La Trobe University, Australia
 - o Maki Sugimoto, Keio University, Japan
- VR Academy Committee:
 - o Mark Billinghurst, Univ Auckland, NZ & Univ of S Australia
 - o Carolina Cruz-Neira, University of Central Florida, USA
 - Steve Feiner, Columbia University, USA (Chair)
 - o Michitaka Hirose, University of Tokyo, Japan
 - o Ming C Lin, University of Maryland, USA
 - o Dieter Schmalstieg, Graz University of Technology, Austria
 - o Kay Stanney, Design Interactive, USA

To ensure the nomination process is as easy as possible, we decided that nominations can be submitted either via VGTC website: https://tc.computer.org/vgtc/awards/vr-award-nominations/ or via a direct email to vgtc-vr-awards@vgtc.org. Invitations for nominations were advertised on the IEEE VR website¹ and through the IEEE VR social media channels.

We thank all those who nominated individuals for these awards and all the chairs and members of the Award committees who carefully considered all the nominations and selected winners for each of these awards. Finally, we thank Laura Trutoiu, a member of past years' Award Committees, who helped coordinate the entire newly expanded VR Awards Program.

Henry Fuchs

Chair, IEEE VGTC Virtual Reality Awards Program

Federico Gil Distinguished Professor of Computer Science University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill