FOREWORD

Special Section on Recent Progress in Antennas and Propagation in Conjunction with Main Topics of ISAP2016

The 2016 International Symposium on Antennas and Propagation (ISAP2016), the 21st ISAP, sponsored by the Communication Society of the IEICE and held at Okinawa Convention Center in Ginowan, Okinawa, Japan, on October 24 to 28, 2016 was a great success. This symposium provided an international forum for exchanging information on recent progress of research and development in antennas, propagation, electromagnetic wave theory, and the related fields. For this symposium, 638 technical papers were submitted from 35 countries and regions, and 566 papers were accepted after the review process by the ISAP2016 Technical Program Committee. 528 papers were presented and 722 people attended the symposium from 33 countries and regions. The objective of this Special Section is to discuss the antenna and propagation technologies including progressing technologies for 5G mobile communication systems, MIMO, PAN/BAN, and wireless power transmission and so on. This special section includes submissions particularly from, but not limited to, the authors of ISAP2016. For this section, 33 papers from 7 countries and regions were submitted. After careful review, 22 papers were accepted. Furthermore, this section includes 4 invited papers on modeling of reflectarray, millimeter-wave planar array, MIMO propagation, and millimeter-wave wireless network.

I hope that this special section will encourage researchers and will promote future research activities in the relevant fields of study. I am grateful to the IEICE Communication Society for deciding to publish this special section and for their continuous support. Finally, I would like to express my sincere appreciation to all the authors for their excellent contributions, and to the reviewers and the editorial committee members for their great effort to make this special section successful.

Editorial committee members

Guest Editors: Toru Takahashi (Mitsubishi Electric), Kentaro Nishimori (Niigata Univ.) Guest Associate Editors: Takuji Arima (Tokyo Univ. of Agric. and Tech.), Koichi Ichige (Yokohama Natl. Univ.), Shinichiro Ohnuki (Nihon Univ.), Noaki Kita (NTT), Koshiro Kitao (NTT DOCOMO), Shigeki Takeda (Ibaraki Univ.), Masayuki Nakano (KDDI), Hiroshi Hirayama (Nagoya Inst. of Tech.), Takeshi Fukusako (Kumamoto Univ.), Mitoshi Fujimoto (Univ. of Fukui), Naobumi Michishita (Natl. Defense Acad.), Manabu Yamamoto (Hokkaido Univ.)

Jiro Hirokawa, Guest Editor-in-chief

Jiro Hirokawa (Fellow) received the B.S., M.S. and D.E. degrees in electrical and electronic engineering from Tokyo Institute of Technology (Tokyo Tech), Tokyo, Japan in 1988, 1990 and 1994, respectively. He was a Research Associate from 1990 to 1996 and an Associate Professor from 1996 to 2015 at Tokyo Tech. He is currently a Professor there. He was with the antenna group of Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden, as a Postdoctoral Fellow from 1994 to 1995. His research area has been in slotted waveguide array antennas and millimeter-wave antennas. He received IEEE AP-S Tokyo Chapter Young Engineer Award in 1991, Young Engineer Award from IEICE in 1996, Tokyo Tech Award for Challenging Research in 2003, Young Scientists' Prize from the Minister of Education, Cultures, Sports, Science and Technology in Japan in 2005, Best Paper Award in 2007 and a Best Letter Award in 2009 from IEICE Communications Society, and IEICE Best Paper Award in 2016. He is a Fellow of IEEE.

