## **FOREWORD**

## **Special Section on Microwave and Millimeter-Wave Technologies**

It is my great honor to announce the publication of the Special Section on Microwave and Millimeter-wave Technology. This field is expanding toward the areas in next generation mobile communication systems (5G/6G), energy transfer, millimeter-wave radars, and so on. The purpose of this Special Section is to deliver latest technological information to active researchers/engineers and to contribute to the sustainable growth of the field.

On behalf of the Editorial Committee, I would like to thank all authors for submitting their recent works to this Special Section. After careful reviews by the Editorial Committee, six full papers have been accepted for publication. The topics covered include active and passive devices, and antennas.

In memory of Mr. Maniwa of Fujitsu Limited, who passed away on August 27, last year, the Editorial Committee has invited nine papers of the latest research in RF power amplifiers in gratitude for his great contribution to our microwave community. The invited nine papers are authored by 1) Mr. Shigekazu Kimura, and Mr. Toshio Kawasaki, 2) Dr. Masaru Sato, Dr. Yoshitaka Niida, Dr. Atsushi Yamada, Dr. Junji Kotani, Dr. Shiro Ozaki, Mr. Toshihiro Ohki, Dr. Naoya Okamoto, and Dr. Norikazu Nakamura, 3) Dr. Andrei Grebennikov, Dr. James Wong, and Mr. Hiroaki Deguchi, 4) Prof. Ryo Ishikawa, Prof. Yoichiro Takayama, and Prof. Kazuhiko Honjo, 5) Mr. Atsushi Yamaoka, Dr. Thomas M. Hone, Mr. Yoshimasa Egashira, and Dr. Keiichi Yamaguchi, 6) Mr. Kenji Mukai, Mr. Hiroshi Okabe, and Dr. Satoshi Tanaka, 7) Dr. Koji Yamanaka, Dr. Shintaro Shinjo, Dr. Yuji Komatsuzaki, Dr. Shuichi Sakata, Mr. Keigo Nakatani, and Mr. Yutaro Yamaguchi, 8) Dr. Yasunori Suzuki, and Prof. Shoichi Narahashi, and 9) Mr. Takuji Mochizuki.

Finally, I would also like to express my gratitude to the Editorial Committee members who have extensively contributed to editing this Special Section and to all anonymous reviewers for their devoted services. Furthermore, I would specially like to thank the members of the IEICE publication department.

The members of the editorial committee of this Special Section are:

Guest Editor: Masataka Ohira (Saitama Univ.), Kazuya Yamamoto (Mitsubishi Electric)

Guest Associate Editors: Maki Arai (Nihon Univ.), Satoshi Ono (The Univ. of Electro-Communications), Ryoko Kishikawa (AIST), Takashi Shimizu (Utsunomiya Univ.), Taizo Tatsumi (Sumitomo Electric), Tomohiko Mitani (Kyoto Univ.), Yohei Morishita (Panasonic), Satoshi Yoshida (Kagoshima Univ.)

Takana Kaho (Shonan Institute of Technology), Guest Editor-in-Chief

**Takana Kaho** (Senior Member) received the B.S. and M.S. degrees in physics from Tokyo Metropolitan University, Japan, in 1994 and 1996 respectively. She received the Dr. Eng. degree in communication engineering from Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan, in 2007. She joined the NTT Radio Communication Systems Laboratories, Yokosuka, Japan, in 1996 and engaged in research and development on MMICs. From 2010 to 2012, she was a visiting associate professor at Research Institute of Electrical Communication, Tohoku University. From 2014 to 2017, she has been a visiting associate professor at Graduate School and Faculty of Information Science and Electrical Engineering, Kyushu University. From 2016 to 2019, she has been a visiting professor at Graduate School of Information Science and Technology, Osaka University. Since April 2019, she has been a professor at the Faculty of Engineering, Shonan Institute of Technology. She received the Japan Microwave Prize at the 1998 Asia Pacific Microwave Conference and the Young Researchers' Award in 2004, and Best Paper Award from IEICE in 2015 and 2017.

