[DOI: 10.2197/ipsjjip.28.100]

Editor's Message to Special Issue of Network Services and Distributed Processing

Keiichi Yasumoto^{1,a)}

Society 5.0, which was proposed in the 5th Science and Technology Basic Plan as a future society that Japan should aspire to, is defined as a human-centered society that balances economic advancement with the resolution of social problems by a system that highly integrates cyberspace and physical space. To realize Society 5.0, Cyber-Physical Systems (CPS) must be penetrated in various fields and locations, hence we need technological advances on IoT, networking, artificial intelligence, distributed computing and service provisioning as well as security and privacy protection technologies.

Based on this background, we planned a special issue entitled "Network Services and Distributed Processing" in 2019. This special issue solicited submissions about research studies on various technologies to realize CPS, aiming to grasp the state-of-the-art and promote the progress in the research field of network services and distributed processing.

The editorial committee of this special issue is mainly organized by the committee members of Special Interest Group on Distributed Processing System (IPSJ SIG-DPS). The Editorial Committee received 18 submitted papers and accepted 14 papers among many high-quality submissions (77.8% acceptance rate).

The accepted papers cover a wide research area in "network services and distributed processing," including sensing, networking, distributed computing and security, and discuss important research issues essential for realizing CPS. Especially, it should be noted that some of the accepted papers propose interesting approaches that apply machine learning algorithms to networking and security problems and data collection and analysis techniques to precision agriculture.

Finally, I would like to thank Yusuke Gotoh, editorial board, and other editorial committee members for their enthusiastic contribution to the entire planning and reviewing process.

The Editorial Committee

• Editor in-Chief:

Keiichi Yasumoto (Nara Institute of Science and Technology)

• Editorial Board Member:

Yusuke Gotoh (Okayama University)

• Editorial Committee Members:

Atsushi Tagami (KDDI Research)

Akihito Hiromori (Osaka University)

Hiroki Saito (Meiji University)

Masaaki Noro (Fujitsu)

Masaki Suzuki (KDDI Research)

Yuuichi Teranishi (NICT)

Tomoki Kajinami (Okayama University of Science)

Tomokazu Hayakawa (Meiji University)

Takayuki Nishio (Kyoto University)

Nobuyoshi Sato (Iwate Prefectural University)

Yu Kaneko (Toshiba)

Tomoya Kawakami (Nara Institute of Science and Technology)

Ryota Tsukamoto (Mitsubishi)

Kazuya Odagiri (Sugiyama Jyogakuin University)

Mitsuhiro Goto (NTT)

Yuka Kato (Tokyo Woman's Christian University)

Fumiaki Sato (Toho University)

Ryo Katsuma (Osaka Prefecture University)

Hiroshi Kurose (Kanazawa Institute of Technology)

Masaki Inokuchi (NEC)

Takuo Nakashima (Tokai University)

Fumihiko Akaki (Fujitsu)

Yasuhisa Takizawa (Kansai University)

Naohiro Hayashibara (Kyoto Sangyo University)

Akiyoshi Sugiki (Hokkaido University)

Hideaki Yanagisawa (National Institute of Technology

Tokuyama College)

Tetsuya Oda (Okayama University of Science)

Atsushi Kanai (Hosei University)

Motonori Nakamura (NII)

Yoh Shiraishi (Future University Hakodate)

Syunsuke Tanaka (NTT DATA)

Yoshinari Nomura (Okayama University)

Hisashi Hoshi (KDDI Research)

Hideki Hara (Chiba Institute of Technology)

Susumu Ishihara (Shizuoka University)

Shingo Yamaguchi (Yamaguchi University)

Mari Abe (IBM)

Hiroyuki Sano (NTT DOCOMO)

Kosuke Nakabasami (Railway Technical Research Institute)

Masafumi Kinoshita (Hitachi)

Manato Fujimoto (Nara Institute of Science and Technology)

Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Ikoma, Nara 630–0192, Japan

a) yasumoto@is.naist.jp

Journal of Information Processing Vol.28 100-101 (Feb. 2020)

Toshihiro Uchibayashi (Tohoku University)

Remi Ando (NEC)

Hiroaki Kikuchi (Meiji University)

Hiroshi Shigeno (Keio University)

Tamio Kihara (Digital Hollywood University)

Takeo Onishi (NEC)

Tetsuya Shigeyasu (Prefectural University of Hiroshima)

Takuya Yoshihiro (Wakayama University)

Kazutoshi Yokoyama (Kochi University of Technology)

Minoru Nakazawa (Kanazawa Institute of Technology)

Takayuki Kushida (Tokyo University of Technology)

Shigeru Fujita (Chiba Institute of Technology)

Naotoshi Adachi (Kansai University)

Motoi Yamagiwa (Yamanashi University)

Takumi Higuchi (Panasonic)