Editorial announcement: Editorial Board changes

Roberta Ferrario^a and Michael Grüninger^b

^a Laboratory for Applied Ontology, ISTC-CNR, Trento, Italy
E-mail: roberta.ferrario@loa.istc.cnr.it ^b Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, University of Toronto, Canada
E-mail: gruninger@mie.utoronto.ca

Research techniques and methods in applied ontology are constantly evolving and its domains of application are broadening at the same time. The Applied Ontology journal seeks to maintain and enhance its role as flagship publication for the applied ontology community and as a forum for innovative research and a lively debate. To this end, the Editorial Board is renewed from time to time.

We begin by thanking some long-serving members who have provided a fundamental contribution to the success of the journal and who are now leaving the board: Bill Andersen, Paolo Bouquet, Roberto Casati, Terry Halpin, Massimo Poesio.

We are pleased to announce the appointment of nine new members who will join the Editorial Board of Applied Ontology and look forward to working with them and benefiting from their expertise in fields as diverse as Ontology Languages, Diagrammatic Representation and Reasoning, Knowledge Sharing and Reuse, Distributed Knowledge Coordination, Semantic Interoperability, Computational Bioscience, Biomedical Informatics, Multi-Agent Systems, Business Process Management, Service-Oriented Computing and Design, Semantic Documentation, Product Design, Organization and Enterprise Modelling, Big Data Analytics, Social computing, and Crowdsourcing.

João Paulo Almeida (Federal University of Espírito Santo, Vitória, Brazil) Ricardo de Almeida Falbo (Federal University of Espírito Santo, Vitória, Brazil) Robert Hoehndorf (Bio-Ontology Research Group, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology) Gilles Kassel (MIS Laboratory, Jules Verne University of Picardie, Amiens, France) Maria Keet (University of Cape Town, South Africa) Marco Schorlemmer (Artificial Intelligence Research Institute, IIIA-CSIC, Catalonia, Spain) Elena Simperl (University of Southampton, UK) Hans Weigand (Tilburg University, The Netherlands) Bob Young (Loughborough University, UK)

1